REVIEW-Am I Normal Yet? 

2017 has already started and I’ve finished one book that I loved so here is review on it. Also this is my first review on this blog. 

Author:Holly Bourne

Published:August 1, 2015

Genre:YA contamporary

Series:The Spinster Club #1

Pages:434

Add on Goodreads

Summary

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

My Review

This book is phenomenal. It is about OCD,agrophobia,feminism,bulling at school, friendship.Evie has OCD and she recently went to college and she wants to be normal. To be honest I have anxiety and at some point I understood Evie. I’m grateful for not having OCD because from this book I got know that it is really hard to overcome it. Holly’s done a great job researching all about anxiety and OCD. All her feelings and bad thoughts is that thing that I can relate to. Anyway I like Evie a lot. She wants to be normal and you can’t believe how many times I have thoughts like this.

“That’s the thing about anxiety. You can worry about anything and everything, dream up all sorts of weird and wonderful situations to be terrified of in the hope your fear will control the world somehow…and yet the world remains uncontrollable. Nothing you can imagine is ever as weird and wonderful as reality and what it chucks at you.”

Another thing that I liked in this book was characters who were feminists. Evie,Lottie and Amber (Evie’s best friends) created this feministic club called The Spinsters Club. One of my goals for 2017 was to read books from other genres. This contemporary with feminist in it and I have never read a book like this before. Anyway my copy of book all marked by stickers because I literally marked everything that girls said in Spinster Club. Every girl need to read it because it has some good thoughts on feminism at all. Personally after reading it,i think about feminism a lot. 

“‘Being a spinster means you value your female relationships as much as your male ones.” I thought of Jane. “Being a spinster means not altering who you are, what you believe in, and what you want just because it makes a boy’s life easier.”

They both smiled wider and Lottie took over.

“Being a spinster means you’re not afraid to look at society and say loudly, ‘I don’t  agree with this, this is wrong.’ Being a spinster means not worrying that boys won’t find you cute or sexy for saying those things.”I smiled as Amber finished up. “Being a spinster means looking after your girlfriends and supporting them through whatever they need.”

This book is centered more on friendship than on romance. Let’s be honest I hoped that Evie ended up with a guy who she liked and overcome OCD. But then I understand that it is stupid to create male character who find “magical” way to cure female character. Evie became friends with Amber and Lottie. Personally I like them all and I found many similarities between me and them. For example, I have anxiety and I’m smart and tall. They support Evie and I want to have friends like this too. After reading this book, I want to read more books about friendship between girls. 

“I caught a stray tear. “They won’t love me once they realize who I really am.”

She picked up her file, making to leave. “I’m sure they will. But you’ve got to love you first, that’s the most important part.”

Overall

This book is about ups and downs of teenage life, how to live when you aren’t like everybody else. It is about betrayal of BFFs and feminism. 

“Everyone’s on the cliff edge of normal. Everyone finds life an utter nightmare sometimes, and there’s no ‘normal’ way of dealing with it.” Sarah sighed. “There is no normal, Evelyn. There’s only what’s normal to you. You’re chasing a ghost.”

Rating

💛💛💛💛💛

One thought on “REVIEW-Am I Normal Yet? 

Leave a Reply

